The museum is housed in an old brick schoolhouse that has a charm and history itself. The displays are artfully created to reflect a phase of the Pioneer's life, showing a kitchen, parlor, office, chapel, general store, schoolroom, miniatre hand-carved circus, and temporary displays of period fashions, quilts etc. changed once or twice a year. The outside area contains a jail cell, half dugout, Santa Fe caboose, farm implements and a wagon barn containig various wagons. We offer trunk programs that can be taken into the schools, club and social meetings or summer programs. Our plans are to put together additional trunk programs to offer more variety of educational and entertaining history about our local area.
The Deaf Smith County Museum opened its doors in March of 1967. It is supported by the county, the Deaf Smith County Historical Society and the community.
Indian arrowheads, tools & pottery. Farm and ranch tools and equipment. Photographs, books,newspapers. Clothing and hats from late 1800's to 1980's. Toys, dishes, furniture. Wagons, windmill, jail cell, railroad caboose.
Newspapers, files, books, county history book, photographs.
3 educational trunk programs are currently available,that can be given by docents or teachers can check them out. Tours can be given by appointment - no fee.
Closed Sundays and most holidays.