The Clarke County Historical Association, founded in 1939, operates a museum & archives in the Coiner House at 32 East Main Street in Berryville, & owns the 18th century Burwell-Morgan Mill, the Miller's House, & the historic Tollhouse in Millwood, Virginia.
Our newly opened museum celebrates the rich social and agricultural history of Clarke County. Through two extraordinary films and the many artifacts on display, the museum tells the unique story of a county where “Our Land Is Our Legacy.” Museum hours are Tuesday through Saturday, 11-4 p.m. Admission is free, and donations are welcome.
In Millwood, restoration of the great water wheel & wooden gears of the Burwell-Morgan Mill has been completed, and the mill is fully operational. Volunteer millers grind every Saturday from May through November, continuing a 200-year legacy of service to the county in one of the great industrial landmarks of Virginia. (The Mill is closed after
Thanksgiving through the end of April).
The Mill is also the site of the semi-annual Art at the Mill, a tremendously popular event
showcasing the work of some 300 artists each spring & fall. A portion of the sales support
the Association & the ongoing maintenance & operation of the Mill.
We are proud of the many volunteers who contribute their time and talents to support the growth and development of the Association, Museum and Archives, and Burwell-Morgan Mill. Their amazing efforts are both prodigious and productive! In addition to sheer energy, preserving and promoting the county’s heritage takes money, too. Please join the CCHA family with your membership and/or contribution.
Access: General Public, Students, Scholars, Members
Appointment required: False